EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER DECISIONS MEETING FOR EDUCATION & CHILDREN

FRIDAY, 24 November 2017

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Executive Board Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

S John, Information & Improvement Manager M.S. Davies, Democratic Services Officer

Committee Room 2, 3 Spilman Street, Carmarthen - 9.30 am - 9.50 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. EDUCATION ADMISSIONS FORUM MEMBERSHIP

Resolved that the following appointments be made to the Education Admissions Forum, for an initial period of four years, in accordance with the constitution determined by the Executive Board at its meeting of the 17th September, 2012:

Roman Catholic Schools:

Mr Ashley Howells representative of Diocesan Director of Education for Menevia;

Church in Wales Schools:

Cannon Brian Witt, Diocesan Director of Education;

Parent Governors [2]:

Ms Jenifer Gilmore & Ms Lindi Lloyd

Local Community Representatives [2]:

Town Cllr. Phillip Warlow & Community Cllr. Julian Evans;

Headteacher Representatives [4]:

Ms Helen-Wyn Davies, Ms Karen Towns, Mr Paul Jones and Mr Ashley Howells.

3. APPOINTMENT OF L.A. GOVERNORS

The Executive Board Member considered applications received for L.A. Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools. It was also noted that L.A. Governors were appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations of filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the application received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for LA Governors:-





Primary School	Appointments
Blaenau (2 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor D. Thomas
Bro Banw (3 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	Councillor D. HarriesMr. J.G. Evans
Carreg Hirfaen (2 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Mr. D. Evans
Dewi Sant (1 Vacancy – 2 Nominations)	Councillor R. James
Llanybydder (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mr. P. Bonning
Nantgaredig (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mr. L. Thomas
Gymraeg Rhydaman (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor D. Harries
Stebonheath (2 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor S. Curry
Y Castell (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination	Mrs. M. Buffrey
Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Dinefwr (2 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	Mr. D.W. DaviesMr. G. Kilby
Coedcae (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Dr. B. Jones
Dyffryn Taf (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor S. Allen
QE High School (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mrs. G. Parker
Special School	Appointments
Rhydygors (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mrs. B.T. James





4.	DECISION RECORD - 26TH SEPTEMBER, 2017		
	RESOLVED that the decision record o September 2017 be signed as a correc	•	
	EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER	DATE	